The Word Alive
Presented by Vinyl Music Hall

The Word Alive

Worthy Of The Crown, Under Giants, Heatseeker

All Ages
The Word Alive are a metalcore band based out of Phoenix, Arizona

General Admission * Standing Room Only * If Any Seating Is Available, It Will Be On A Strictly First Come-First Serve Basis * All Ages * Additional $5 Cash Surcharge At The Door For Under 21 * Attendees Under 16 Must Be Accompanied By A Ticketed, Adult Guardian

Formed in 2008, The Word Alive are a metalcore band based out of Phoenix, Arizona. Originally founded by singer Craig Mabbitt and guitarists Zack Hansen and Tony Pizzuti, the band served as a side project for Mabbitt, who joined Escape the Fate around the same time. Filling out their membership with bassist Nick Urlacher, drummer Tony Aguilera, and keyboardist Dusty Riach, the band began to develop a sound, though their progress was stunted by Mabbitt's rigorous touring schedule, causing the band to bring in vocalist Tyler Smith to replace him. With Smith in place, things began to move quickly for the Word Alive, who signed on with Fearless Records, which released their Empire EP in 2009. After hitting the road, the Word Alive released their full-length debut, Deceiver, in 2010, a year that would also see them parting ways with Aguilera and Urlacher, who were replaced by bassist Daniel Shapiro and drummer Justin Salinas (though his time with the band would be short-lived, with drummer Luke Holland stepping in to replace him just two years later when Salinas grew tired of life on the road). A second album, the darker and heavier Life Cycles, followed in 2012. The Word Alive continued to mature their sound, returning in 2014 with Real, an album that found the band developing a more nuanced and atmospheric take on the genre. 2015 saw the band continuing a grueling tour schedule that included international appearances in Hong Kong, Bangkok, and the Philippines. In November of that year, their dedication to fans was tested when vocalist Smith broke his back and several ribs during a stage-diving incident and still insisted on honoring every remaining date on the tour. Just a few months later, the Word Alive announced the release of their fourth LP. Dark Matter arrived in March 2016. Later that year, Holland parted ways with the band and was replaced by Matt Horn. Shapiro was the next to go, later replaced by Ryan Daminson. The quintet issued singles "Misery" and "Red Clouds" before the arrival of their fifth set, 2018's Violent Noise. ~ Gregory Heaney

Worthy Of The Crown

Known for their use of 7 and 8 string guitars, Worthy of the Crown describes their music as progressive metalcore with a side of electronic harmonies and at times dishes out brutal deathcore style riffs and amazing breakdowns which keeps the listener coming back for more. In the end you are presented with beautiful harmonies, bone chilling breakdowns, and technical riffs.

The band was formed in early 2016 and their current lineup is Ben Revell (Vocals) Scott Richards (guitar), Brent McNamara (bass), John Riley (Drums), and Justin Curtis (guitar). The group aims to bring you an exceptional musical experience. They strive for a unique and powerful sound showcasing their progressive metalcore roots while mixing in technical and melodic influences.

Worthy of the Crown has been in the studio previously to record their EP Self Worth, Self Doubt (2016) with Jose Delrio at River Sound studios in Pensacola Florida. Their last release EP Deity (2018) was recorded with Jose Delrio of River Sound Studios and Mastered by Josh Wickman of Dreadcore Productions.

Worthy of the Crown is unsigned as of 2019 but has proven that they can get music to the masses through DIY and a lot of hard work. They are all blue collar workers from all over the country looking to play a phenomenal show for everyone in the metal community!!

Venue Information:
Vinyl Music Hall
2 S. Palafox St.
Pensacola, FL, 32502